We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were LiarsWe Were Liars by E. Lockhart
Published by Delacorte Press
Review copy provided by Netgalley

From the publisher:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

There have been MANY reviews for this one popping up over the last couple of weeks, and I’m going to echo what a lot of people said when I tell you that I truly don’t want to tell you anything about this book. I went into it knowing nothing but the above summary and while I spent the first half of the book mostly confused but also intrigued, as the novel went on I grew more and more invested in the story and couldn’t put it down. By the time it was over, I was feeling so emotional that I couldn’t pick up another book right away. Yes, it’s that kind of book – the one that forces you to take a reading break in order to digest everything and move on.

We Were Liars is packed full of stuff that’s ripe for discussion but unfortunately, I’d rather not discuss it here until you read it. It would be perfect for a book club as there is just SO MUCH to talk about.

Just read it. You won’t be sorry.

5 thoughts on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. Just finished this one yesterday. Wow. All the not-talking aside, I absolutely love the literary voice. It was so unique. It was just so snappy and smart and full of personality. I could not put this one down, and could totally see this book being consumed in one sitting.

  2. Darn, I never got to the point where I liked the protagonist so it was hard to get swept away by this one. Oh well. Looks like I am in the minority.

Leave a Reply

