Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

Someday, Someday, MaybeSomeday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham
Published by Ballantine Books

Aspiring actress Fanny Banks has given herself just three years to become successful, and with just six months to go things aren’t looking good. She’s working as a cocktail waitress, living in Brooklyn with her best friend Jane and their friend Dan, an aspiring writer with a deadline of his own. Even though Fanny is getting call backs from auditions, she’s only booking silly things that she doesn’t feel are  “important” enough for the actress she knows she’s capable of becoming. And the charming guy in her acting class, James, who begins to show interest in her, keeps telling Fanny how important it is to be taken seriously as an actor, if you want to become successful. This is a truly funny and heartwarming coming-of-age story set in New York in the early ’90’s – a story about finding and accepting yourself.

While I’m a huge fan of Lauren Graham (the actress) I wasn’t sure how her talent as an actress would translate into a talent for writing fiction. Luckily, she seems to be excellent at writing too and I thoroughly enjoyed her first foray into the fiction world. I am sure that much of this novel is based on Graham’s own experiences as an aspiring young actress when she was in her twenties, and the authenticity of those experiences shines through on the page.

Fanny is an extremely likable character and she’s easy to root for from the very start. She’s smart, ambitious, funny, interesting, and someone I would want to be friends with. Her inner monologue is hysterical at times, as she’s constantly analyzing the people and situations around her and has running commentary to provide for the reader on just about every single thing that happens to her. It’s impossible not to be entertained by how she interprets the world around her and deals with the obstacles that come her way. She’s the kind of character that you can’t stop reading, that you want to get to know better and hang out with in real life.

I loved how the romance in this story is such a small part of the overall novel. She’s in a relationship with this actor guy, but the reader never gets to know him well because even though he’s a somewhat significant part of Fanny’s life, acting and the pursuit of success is such a bigger part. At one point there becomes a sort of love triangle thing going on, but even that story is secondary to the story of Fanny’s journey, both professionally and personally. I loved how this book is really all about Fanny and the guys (and her best friend) in her life are so secondary to what’s going on with her.

I enjoyed Someday, Someday, Maybe quite a lot! Also, I forgot to mention this but Lauren Graham narrates the audio herself and it is fantastic. I highly recommend the book and listening to the audio.

21 thoughts on “Someday, Someday, Maybe by Lauren Graham

  1. I’ve been wanting to read this one, having heard good things. Now I’m excited the audio is a winner, I can add it to that perhaps. I have a big audible library…ha ha.

  2. I’m considering this one. I haven’t seen much of the actress but liked her enough. I do like the sound of the romance. If it’s presented as a book about aspirations then it’s good it concentrates on that subject.

  3. oh wow – they are turning this into a show? I loved the snowy cover of this book (although now that it has done nothing but snow here this winter, I feel less compelled to pull it off the shelf!) Thanks for the recommendation about the audio – I am sure she would be a great narrator and I am always looking for new audiobooks!

  4. I’ve been waiting to reveal this on the Minecraft community in the form of something permanent.
    The following are a handful of easy foods to get in Minecraft.
    love it

  5. The side features a set of component outputs and a pair of RCA analog audio outputs for connection to a
    monitor or perhaps television applying this if you might have an older TV.
    99 and Hulu Plus gives you access to next day cable programming for
    the next $7. Hdmi to rca converter cable best buy

  6. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the
    images on this blog loading? I’m trying to find out if its
    a problem on my end or if it’s the blog. Any feedback would be
    greatly appreciated.

  7. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m
    thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for first-time blog writers?
    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  8. Hі, after reading this remarkable article i am also hwppy to share my knowledge here with colleagues.

  9. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this
    matter to be actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complicated and extremely broad for
    me. I am looking forward for your next post,
    I will try to get the hang of it!

  10. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your site, how could i
    subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a acceptable
    deal. I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear concept

  11. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better!
    Looking at this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He constantly kept preaching about this. I am going to
    forward this post to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a great read.
    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

