Click: When We Knew We Were Feminists edited by Courtney E. Martin and J. Courtney Sullivan

Click: When We Knew We Were FeministsClick: When We Knew We Were Feminists edited by Courtney E. Martin and J. Courtney Sullivan
Published by Seal Press

This collection of essays features many prominent young feminists explaining that “click” moment – that moment when the light bulb turned on, when they understood with absolute clarity that they were feminists.

Most people identify with some kind of ideology – a religion, a political belief, a specific stance on something – and there is almost always a pivotal moment in a person’s life that makes that belief cement itself, that brings it to the forefront of one’s mind with perfect clarify. I personally have several things that I believe that are absolutely critical to my identity and sense of who I am, feminism being just one of them. So I appreciated this book, a book about women (and one man) who, just like me, at some point in their lives, came to the realization that feminism is where it’s at.

I liked how varied these essays are – the many contributors come from different backgrounds, educationally, racially, socially, in pretty much every way. So many of these authors came to feminism in nontraditional ways. I personally had my “click” moment in a college women’s studies class – so predictable – but many of these writers had theirs in such interesting and unique situations.

And everyone who contributed to this collection is a GOOD writer! I was engaged and interested in every single one of these essays.

I highly recommend Click for those who enjoy thoughtful essays and/or get why feminism is still important and relevant (hint: it is). This is a great collection edited by two smart and talented women.

9 thoughts on “Click: When We Knew We Were Feminists edited by Courtney E. Martin and J. Courtney Sullivan

  1. Sounds great! I’ll have to give it a try. I never had a “click” moment — I always self-identified as a feminist — but I do remember the first time I encountered someone who said feminism was stupid because women could vote now and wear pants. It wasn’t a click in terms of realizing my feminism, but it definitely made me realize that my views weren’t necessarily the standard for women everywhere.

    • My “click” moment was kind of like that. I didn’t realize I WAS a feminist until I got to WS class in college, but I’ve always thought LIKE a feminist. Does this make sense? I think you’ll like this one, Jenny, because several of the essays are similar to your story – they were always feminists but their “click” was that other people didn’t get its importance as they did.

  2. So I’m sitting here, just lost in thought. When people say the word “feminist”, some people’s first thoughts would be “bra-burning man-haters”. I’m not sure why…from the 60’s I guess. I’ve never really examined whether I am or am not a feminist. I just am who I am. But when I really consider the true definition, I AM a feminist. But there has never been any question in my mind that this is not the way things should be. I have always worked in a man’s world and held my own. I didn’t shrink back if a meeting or a table is full of men, I just barged in. I’ve always considered myself equal. I realize that many women have struggled against the inequality, but personally have just taken it for granted and run with it. Interesting. I should read this book. It would be good for me I think.

    • Yes Sandy I think you would find a lot of “aha” moments in this book. You are definitely a feminist – anyone who can work in a “man’s world” as you call it (and I do too) has to be a feminist to have a basic understanding that there shouldn’t be a “man’s world”! I don’t know about you, but I’ve been told MANY times by MANY men in my workplace (mostly customers) that a “young girl” like me shouldn’t be in the position I’m in. Or when I’m standing next to my EMPLOYEE who happens to be male and slightly older than I am, they assume he’s the boss and I’m the [insert job title]. I could go on and on. But anyway – I think you should read it! ;)

Leave a Reply

