The Engagements by J. Courtney Sullivan

The EngagementsThe Engagements by J. Courtney Sullivan
Published by Knopf

“A diamond is forever” – four words that changed the face of engagements and weddings in America forever. This novel is based on the true story of Frances Gerety, the woman who coined that phrase for DeBeers in 1947, while also focusing on four other couples and their marriages – or lack thereof. This sprawling novel takes place over the course of almost a hundred years, and while the characters couldn’t be more different from one another, by the end of the novel they all come together in unexpected and delightful ways.

I have been a fan of J. Courtney Sullivan since reading  her debut novel, Commencement, and I must say that I think The Engagements might be her best work yet. There were just so many layers to this novel, so many different characters with important stories, and I thought the way everything came together at the end was sort of genius.

I loved all the historical tidbits about the diamond industry and how the whole engagement/wedding industry was basically created by the companies that benefit from the mass consumer spending of this stuff.

This is one of those cases where I don’t have a lot to say about a book, even though this is a novel on the longer side and I thought it was absolutely wonderful. I loved everything about this book but all I have to say is, if you like smart writing, compelling characters, and a storyline that continues to surprise you, pick up The Engagements. You won’t be disappointed.