Let Me Tell You Something by Caroline Manzo

Let Me Tell You Something: Life as a Real Housewife, Tough-Love Mother, and Street-Smart Businesswoman by Caroline Manzo
Published by It Books, an imprint of HarperCollins

Caroline Manzo, star of Bravo TV’s The Real Housewives of New Jersey, tells it like it is, no matter the situation. The pulls-no-punches matriarch of the New Jersey cast is here to tell her fans how she cultivated success in her own life – in the areas of marriage, family, raising children, friendships, and more.

I have a confession to make: I am hugely addicted to Bravo TV’s Real Housewives series. I am not kidding – I watch pretty much every cast and almost never miss an episode (the DVR helps with this). However, I am completely aware that these “reality” shows are about as far from reality as humanly possible. I get that most of the drama, fighting, even some of the relationships are completely staged for the viewers’ enjoyment and for ratings. I happily devour what the producers feed me. :) That being said, in every cast there’s usually one person who’s the voice of reason, the one ounce of semi-reality amidst the chaos, and in New Jersey that person is Caroline Manzo. She’s got me pretty convinced that much of what happens to her on-screen is real, and that the close relationships she has with her husband, children, extended family, and friends are truthful. So when I needed some brain candy type reading, I looked no further than her new book.

And yes, this book is pretty fluffy. BUT the woman does give good advice and it’s clear through her writing that she really does love her family and has worked hard to cultivate a happy, fun, healthy environment for her kids to grow up in. She’s also worked really hard over the years to keep the bond with her husband incredibly strong, and same goes for the bonds between she and her friends and extended family members. Yes, she’s on a silly show about women with sometimes petty first-world problems and stupid drama. But Caroline Manzo herself, I have to admit that I really like her. She’s got the no bullshit attitude that I can really appreciate in a person.

I am not going to apologize for loving the Real Housewives shows, nor will I apologize for reading Caroline Manzo’s book. I really liked it. But I will tell you that I can only recommend reading it if you’re like me and are addicted to those silly housewives, Caroline in particular. Her blend of sarcasm, truth, hilarity, and in-your-face, tell it like it is writing is exactly how she appears on the show. Reading her book only made me like her more!

One thought on “Let Me Tell You Something by Caroline Manzo

Leave a Reply

