Bloodroot by Amy Greene

9780307390578Bloodroot by Amy Greene
Published by Vintage, an imprint of Random House

Bloodroot Mountain has always been Myra Lamb’s home, and even though her own mother wasn’t there for her, her grandmother, Birdie, stepped in to take care of her. When John Odom, a boy also from Bloodroot Mountain, decides to marry Myra and take her away from her wild, outdoorsy roots, things do not turn out exactly how John had hoped. This is a story of a family throughout three generations, a story about how the choices in one generation have shocking effects for years afterwards.

It took me FOREVER to get through this book. I don’t really know why, other than the fact that I was listening to it and didn’t do a whole lot of activities during that time which allowed me to listen to my iPod. Other than that, I liked the book and was interested enough, but didn’t love it enough to NEED to pick up my iPod when I had a choice to do something else instead. Does that make sense?

I have to say that the best thing about Bloodroot, for me, was the fact that the audio was excellent. The book was narrated by a full cast and each narrator embodied his/her character. By the end of the novel, these characters had seeped into my soul, their voices were so distinct and real to me because of the excellent narration. There were southern accents, genuine feeling, great inflection – overall, such a great audio.

Other than that, I’m sort of of meh about the whole thing. This is a really sad novel, with not a whole lot of redeeming things that happen to bring it from that sad and depressing place. The characters are all messed up, and by the end of the novel I didn’t really feel like they were much better off than they were in the beginning.

So, the bad news is that I don’t have a lot of great things to say about this book. But I DO have a lot of positive feelings towards the audio, so if you like Southern fiction, and family sagas, give this one a try. You just might enjoy it more than I did!

2 thoughts on “Bloodroot by Amy Greene

Leave a Reply

