Mini-reviews: The Great Gatsby & Marriage Rules

I don’t have a whole lot to say about either of these books so I thought I’d treat you to a couple mini-reviews today!

Great Gatsby Unabridged, The By F Scott FitzgeraldThe Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
Audio published by Caedmon, an imprint of HarperCollins

In anticipation of the movie coming out in May, I decided to reread The Great Gatsby, a novel I read in high school but haven’t picked up since. The audio was brilliantly performed by Tim Robbins, so it was an excellent listening experience, and I’m glad I reread this book because turns out there’s a LOT I forgot in the 13 years since I read it the first time. I forgot how utterly depressing the last part of this book is, and I got way more swept up in the characters and the drama of it all than I did when I read it the first time. Perhaps this is because I’m more mature than my sixteen-year-old self (I’d certainly hope that’s the case) or perhaps because it was required reading the first time around, but I enjoyed the book quite a bit more this time around. Also I definitely didn’t remember how absolutely gorgeous the writing is. At several points, I replayed portions of the audiobook because the writing was like poetry to me and I wanted to experience it again. Great book and now I’m even more excited for the movie.

Marriage RulesMarriage Rules: A Manuel for the Married and the Coupled-Up by Harrier Lerner
Published by Gotham, an imprint of Penguin

My marriage is incredibly important to me, and while I don’t read a lot of self-help books, I’m always open to hear about what the “experts” have to say about sustaining a healthy, happy relationship. My relationship isn’t in trouble, not by any means, but this stuff is interesting to me, and who doesn’t want an even better marriage than they already have? Anyway, I liked this book. The “rules” are super-simple, easy things that are truly common sense. However, if you’re in a bad place in your relationship (we’ve all been there), common sense when it comes to your relationship isn’t so common. We get these blinders on when we’re angry, hurt, or whatever, and these tips from Ph.D. Lerner really can help to see through the emotions and work on what really needs fixing in the relationship. The common theme here is this – the only person you can change is you, and here are things YOU can do to do your part in improving your relationship, or in maintaining the great relationship you already have. This book covers a lot of ground, and it didn’t give me a ton of insight besides what I already knew to be true, but I did get some stuff out of it. And I think for couples in trouble, this book could be really helpful.

6 thoughts on “Mini-reviews: The Great Gatsby & Marriage Rules

  1. I read and loved Gatsby in high school too, and wrote a paper about the color symbolism (like the green light) that I still have stashed away. It was one of my favorite books of all time, and I need to read it again. I recently saw the preview of the movie, and it looked beautiful! So many colors and such vibrancy. I can’t wait to see it!

  2. I’ve not read Gatsby, but like you I want to before the film comes out. I like that whilst it’s famous the issues with it are discussed enough that expectations can’t be too high. Glad you enjoyed it more this time, the better way round.

  3. I loved The Great Gatsby when I read it in high school and again in college, but it’s been years since I reread it. I’m reluctant to do it before the movie comes out, because I’m a little worried I’ll do that thing where I nitpick about “inaccuracy” in the film. I want to reread it but I might wait until after I’ve seen the movie.

  4. I recently listened to Gatsby with Tim Robbins, too! SO good and I agree that what I thought I remembered was no where near this latest wonderful experience. I think I put a good distance of ‘reminding’ myself with the story and the someday-I-will-actually-see the movie. I’m usually not timely with movie releases…

Leave a Reply

