TSS with War & Peace check-in

Happy Sunday, everyone! I’m really trying to enjoy my Sundays as much as possible lately because for the past few weeks, and for the foreseeable future, they’re the only day off I get each week. It’s a long story, and I don’t feel like talking about it, but let’s just say work is kicking my butt. In an okay way, but in a way that I am having difficulty getting anything done in my life besides work, sleep, eat, repeat. I cannot fathom how some people work sixty hour weeks like I’m doing right now and come home to take care of children. It boggles the mind. Anyway, it will get better eventually and life will get a little more normal soonish (at least that’s what I keep telling myself).

I have been keeping up with my War & Peace reading, though! I actually reread the first section because I felt like I missed a lot the first time around, which ended up being insanely helpful. I finished the second section this morning and I’m not sure what to think. Mostly I felt bored while reading it – the details of war have never been very interesting to me, in any book I’ve read. There was one particularly poignant moment, though, that made me stop and reread the passage. When Rostov comes to a full understanding of the reality of war, the reality that he could be killed, that someone would actually want to kill him, that struck me as such a major moment in the book. This chapter was all about the war itself and the messiness and violence and horribleness of it all, and this part was one where one character had a moment of clarity and it terrified the hell out of him. It was definitely my favorite part of the entire section. It made this huge, scary, overwhelming classic Russian novel so much more accessible and easy for my mind to grasp – and gave me the push I needed to get to the end of the section, with the hope that the book will become easier and more enjoyable as it goes on. So I’m looking forward to continuing with the book, even though there’s really been just that one moment I really liked the thing, I am hopeful that there’s much more to come. And I’m proud of myself for finding something to relate to and enjoy in the book – I honestly was afraid that just wouldn’t happen at all!

And I’ve been reading a little more than just War & Peace, but not a whole lot more. I also finished Ask the Passengers by A.S. King this morning and I LOVED it. I’m probably going to start something else this afternoon, although what I have no idea.

What are you up to this weekend – bookish or otherwise?

4 thoughts on “TSS with War & Peace check-in

  1. aw I’m sorry work is so hard but congrats on keeping on with W&P! I think it will get better as we get deeper in.

  2. Hi Heather,
    I had a book related outing today with the women in my book club. we read Memoir of the Sunday Brunch. We actually went to have breakfast at the restaurant mentioned in the book, Prandls’. We drove to Milwaukee and had a great time. I had the German Pancake!

    Christine

Leave a Reply

