War & Peace check-in

So, friends, I am reading War & Peace! It’s already hard and I’m not sure I like it but I know I don’t hate it (which is possibly more important than liking it, when it comes to me reading classics because typically I suck at them), so I’m forging ahead. This is a read along hosted by Amy and Iris that lasts ALL YEAR! I figured I could handle reading this huge chunkster if I took the entire year to do it. So, here we go. Here are my answers to Amy’s questions for our first check-in after finishing Book 1, Part 1.

1) Why are you reading War & Peace?
Great question. I’m really not sure. I guess because I don’t read enough of the classics and this seemed like a good way to get one of THE classics under my belt. We’ll see how it works out for me!

2) What translation are you reading? Are you reading print, ebook, or audio?
I’m reading the Nook version which is the same as the Kindle version.

3) So far, is it different than you expected or the same?
I didn’t really know what to expect to be honest! I expected it to be hard and it kind of is, but it is slightly more readable than I was afraid it would be.

4) Do you have a favorite character? (lol just asking–I feel like I barely know these people)
I completely agree – I barely know them! There are SO many characters, it’s truly kind of overwhelming, and I think it’ll be a little while before I really can pick favorites.

5) Do you have any other predictions or expectations for the rest of the book?
Honesty, I don’t know yet. I’m still trying to get my first impressions together. I’m definitely having a tough time not getting completely lost or drifting off to sleep (LOL) but I do like the conversations of politics that happen randomly but also seem to be happening constantly.

6) What was your favorite part of the first section?
That I finished it! Haha sad but true.

7) What do you see as the biggest obstacle to finishing?
All those other shiny, more fun and exciting books that distract me. Oh, and my complete lack of willpower when it comes to finishing any book I’m not enjoying. But I think I’ll be okay once I start getting some of the characters straight.

 That’s it so far! I’m hoping that once I have one more section under my belt I’ll be feeling a little more confident in my understanding of what the heck is going on. Or perhaps that’s wishful thinking, we’ll just have to see …

Have you ever read War & Peace? What did you think?

12 thoughts on “War & Peace check-in

  1. I’m happy to see you joining in, although I do hope you won’t push yourself to hard if you’re not enjoying it at all.. I smiled at your answer to question one because when I saw that question over at Amy’s blog “I’m not really sure” was all I could come up with :)

    Those characters are all a little confusing, right? I try not to be bothered by it too much and try to let the interactions speak, but it’s difficult because I am the kind of persons who likes to keep everyone straight in a book.

    • I’m with you, it’s hard for me to get into a book if I’m not connected to the characters. And if I can’t keep them straight, how do I connect with them?

  2. I haven’t read War and Peace. I have read The French Lieutenant’s Woman. What a hard book to read and I did not like it. I felt I need to read a classic every now and again. I haven’t tried that again.

    • Aww well it’s no fun reading books you don’t like! That’s really why I don’t read a lot of classics, I haven’t loved very many of them. But they are just like other kinds of books – some you’ll like, some you won’t.

Leave a Reply

