Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin

From the Hardcover editionHappier at Home by Gretchen Rubin
Published by Crown, an imprint of Random House

After successfully cultivating more happiness in her life over the course of her first happiness project, Gretchen Rubin came to the realization one day that the most important element of a happy life is her home, and with that in mind, she set up on another happiness project. Her goals were simple – to appreciate more deeply the people and things in her home that already brought her happiness, and to change the things in her home that could increase her happiness even more.

Regular readers may recall that I absolutely loved Gretchen’s first book about happiness, The Happiness Project, so it was practically a given that I’d read this one as soon as I could get my hands on it. I don’t have a whole lot to say about Happier at Home because in many ways it’s very similar to the other book, but I did enjoy it quite a bit.

This book is basically Rubin taking the concepts and ideas from the first book, and shrinking them, making them more specific, to focus just on home and family. She works on her relationship with her husband, and with each of her daughters, she cleans closets, she tackles chores she’d put off for years, all the things you’d expect in a memoir about making home an even more homey, happier place.

And I really liked it! I enjoy Rubin’s style and really can relate to her as a person; I think I might have said this after reading the first book, but I feel that we could be friends. I can relate to a lot of the stuff about wanting home to be a more peaceful, happy place – after all, isn’t that what we all are looking for in our homes?

I would definitely recommend reading the first book first, though, as so much of what Rubin talks about is explained in more detail in the first book. But read them both! I enjoyed both of them tremendously and found myself really inspired by many of Rubin’s ideas.

8 thoughts on “Happier at Home by Gretchen Rubin

  1. I would like to read both of these, as they sound like books that would tremendously benefit me, and I also believe that when one’s house in is order, things are bound to be more pleasing in everyday life. Excellent review today, Heather! I am going to have to find these!

  2. I impulsively bought the first book right around New Years a couple of years ago (self-improvement ho!) but never read it! I guess I was waiting for when I was feeling unhappy and had time to read it. I’m such a mess! Haha! It would all probably do me lots of good.

  3. I didn’t know this book existed! How cool! I’ve been happier myself recently, and a side effect has been that I’ve been doing way more chores and around-the-house activities than I ever used to. It way improves my mood to clean things up around my house and hang things on the wall and make the place prettier.

  4. I was wondering how this one was since I loved The Happiness Project too! I’m just waiting for the paperback so it’ll match the first one that I have, lol

  5. Thanks for the reminder!!! I have been meaning to pick up The Happiness Project for sometime, and now, knowing that there is a follow up book I have to make it happen. From what I understand she is a refreshingly honest writer with an extremely relatable situation. Can’t wait, Melissa

Leave a Reply

