Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins

Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins
Published by Hyperion Books

Spell Bound is the third book in the Hex Hall series. Here’s my review of Hex Hall, and here’s my review of Demonglass, the second book in the series. As you can see, I loved both of those books and was really excited to get to the final book in the series, Spell Bound.

Unfortunately, I didn’t love this book like I wanted to. Maybe it was my mood – I started it and put it down about five times before I made myself read the thing, which tells you I wasn’t really in the mood for this kind of book. I was sort of just over it, bored by the entire book. Which is so annoying, because I really liked this series! But I just couldn’t get into this final installment.

I did like how Hawkins ended the book but the bulk of it felt unnecessary and too much of the same. Maybe it’s just me, but I could barely make myself finish it. I still appreciated Sophie as a character and I enjoyed the world that Hawkins created. I’m sad to say that I didn’t love the end of this trilogy but I would still recommend it because of how ┬ámuch I enjoyed the first two books.

It probably was just my mood, honestly! Oh well. Can’t win them all.