The Sunday Salon

Good morning and happy Sunday to you all! I had a delightful morning taking Charlotte to the dog park so she could run and play with her “friends” to her heart’s content, I’ve got laundry almost finished for the weekend, and now I”m relaxing with a cup of coffee and looking forward to visiting some of your blogs. Today has a loose agenda – we need to hit Target for a few things and we are going to try a new restaurant in our neighborhood for lunch. Other than that I’d love to get some more reading done and definitely spend some time outdoors as it’s gorgeous here in sunny Florida this January.

One thing I have to share this weekend is that I just finished my fifth book of the year last night, and I’m shocked and delighted that FOUR out of those five books have been five-star reads for me! This is looking to be an amazing year in reading, especially if I continue to choose books based on what I really REALLY want to read, and based on what I think I’ll love. If you’re curious to take a gander at what exactly those five-star reads were, I am on Goodreads and do keep it up to date. I don’t post reviews there, but I do use it to keep track of what I’m reading and to rate books since I don’t use a rating system here on the blog.

Also, I’m super proud of myself because I have reviews scheduled through the rest of the month. I don’t think I have EVER been this far ahead with scheduled posts and I’m loving it. It’s a feeling I’ll try to remember and keep up with for as much of the year as I possibly can.

Good thing I’m scheduled ahead because I might not have a ton of time to blog the rest of this month. Next week I have a full work week, tickets to the Orlando Magic game (courtesy of the amazing company I work for) on Friday night, work Saturday, and the following Wednesday I head to Chicago for an extended weekend. My niece Kendall is turning a year old and you can bet I will not miss her first birthday party! By the time I return the following Monday, January will be over – time flies. My goodness.

Oh, and I forgot to mention – I’m headed to the Bahamas for a long weekend at the end of March and trying (like, with real effort, not just “trying”) to lose 10-15 pounds before the trip, so I’ve been working out 4-5 times a week for about a month now. I’m not a person who can diet but what I can do is be more careful about what I’m eating in general and be more caring towards giving my body the exercise it needs and deserves. So that’s what I’m doing, and while I’m happy and feel better already, it certainly takes up a good portion of my free time!

So. I better get back to my coffee-drinking, blog-reading Sunday morning ways. What are you up to this lovely weekend?

16 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. I have to start by saying that I’m a tad “green with envy” about the gorgeous weather you’re experiencing down south! Right now it’s low 40s, no snow (rained away), and a cold chilly rain! Okay…Bahamas sounds wonderful!! Good for you too about being ahead of the schedule. I’m not doing review books this year (or maybe ever again) so I’m almost free with the exception of a few author books that I accepted last year, to read without a schedule!! Go You!! Enjoy your Sunday!

    • Haha I know about the weather envy. For the first 26 years of my life I lived in Chicago and could only hope to enjoy nice weather year-round. Now that I’ve been here 3 years I don’t think I’ll ever move back up north. BUT I am going to Chicago next week for a family event and I am NOT looking forward to bundling up!

  2. I’m with you, it’s been a good year thus far for my reading. It makes me very happy! Your Chicago trip sounds wonderful, guess you won’t be making next book club, you’ll be missed.
    Enjoy your Sunday!!

  3. I’ve had a great time with my books so far this year too. Amazing how you can hit a real streak sometimes. It’s nice too because I can write the reviews as time allows and hopefully by the time I turn the blog back on again in February I’ll be scheduled way out. And yay for you and your vacations and the workout plan. It can be tough to stick to so if you ever need some encouragement, you know my number!

    • Aww thanks Sandy. Just spending 10 minutes with you and hearing you talk about your crazy workout schedule while balancing being a mom, wife, housekeeper (LOL), cat lady, etc. is motivation enough. I couldn’t ever do all that you do and stay in such great shape too.

  4. 5 books and a month of scheduled posts is fantastic! I’ve a few reviews ready but not enough to feel comfortable yet. Hope any planning for your weekends goes well :)

  5. Isn’t having a pile of posts ready to go fun?! I’m not completely scheduled ahead (especially my Library Loot & Field Notes posts I can’t prewrite much) but I have enough book review posts to last into February & the other ones are easier to write anyway. ;)

    I’ve been having four & five star reads across this board this year too. Yay for 2013!!!

  6. It does sound like you have a busy few weeks ahead, and I am happy that you will be able to be at your niece’s first birthday party! I also have changed the way I eat and am trying to lose weight. I have pretty much cut out meat, except for weekends, and I feel better about my diet. I still need to make more time for exercise, because that hasn’t been a priority since last August. I am glad that you are doing so well with everything, and I think it’s awesome that you have scheduled all the way out! Go you!

    • It’s really, really hard to make a conscious choice to eat right and exercise on a consistent basis. I’m trying, and I admire you for doing the same, so keep up with it. Good luck. :)

Leave a Reply

