The Sunday Salon

sundaysalon2Good morning! How was your holiday? My Christmas was good but very quiet. We didn’t really do gifts this year, but we had a great dinner Christmas day that my mother-in-law cooked, had a super relaxing Christmas Eve night with just the hubby and myself, and as we both worked the rest of the week, nothing much else to note. Yesterday was my birthday! And I had a great day. After working long hours the week of Christmas I gave myself the day off yesterday and tomorrow for a nice four-day weekend! I was inundated with birthday texts, phone calls, and Facebook messages all day yesterday – people sure do know how to make a girl feel loved! And last night my wonderful hubby took me out to dinner at Mitchell’s Fish Market after stopping at The Wine Room (one of my very favorite places) for a glass of wine. Today we plan to finally see Les Miz (SO excited, yay!) and then head to Universal for a few hours with my sister-in-law. New Years Eve will bring dinner out with friends, and New Years Day will bring reading, blogging, grilling out, and probably fun things like laundry and cleaning. ;)

I’m enjoying reading everyone’s 2012 wrap-up posts. In case you missed it, last week I spotlighted my favorite books read this year in nonfiction, audio, YA, and adult fiction. I read some great books and even though I read fewer books this year than I have in the past, I’m still happy with my reading year overall.

I don’t plan to set any concrete reading goals for myself for next year, other than the fact that I’d like to be a bit more discriminatory about what I do read. I want to read books I will love, not just books that are okay or even that I like. Also, I have a bunch of books from SIBA that I would like to get to as well as the huge TBR bookshelf I’ve had forever and keep adding to. So I guess a loose goal would be to read from my own collection, but I say that every year and it rarely happens. So we’ll see. ;)

I’m off to enjoy the rest of my day. What are your plans for New Years? And any goals for 2013?

Happy New Year everyone! Let’s make it a great one. :)

10 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon

  1. aw, Happy Belated Birthday! I’m so glad the people in your life made you feel loved!!

    Enjoy Les Mis, I quite liked it!

  2. Happy Belated Birthday! I agree about quality reading, and I just recently stopped reading a 2013 book that I was hoping to enjoy. Sadly some book club book choices were the ones I liked least. Your long weekend sounds lovely…and well earned.
    Hope to see you soon…..and we can make a toast to good books in 2013.

  3. Happy belated birthday and a very happy New Year! I hope it’s a wonderful one for everyone (even though I know that’s objectively impossible).

Leave a Reply

