Faves from 2012: YA fiction

In no particular order, here are my top five YA books I read in 2012.

How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr [my review] – I’ve always really liked Sara Zarr’s novels, and this one might be her best yet. The characters are real, the issues they face are even more so, and everything comes together in a beautiful, brilliant way. And it made me sob, in public no less. So this is a favorite for sure.

Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver [my review] – This follow-up to Oliver’s Delirium did not disappoint. The action was there, the characters were developed in a way that made them feel even more true, and it ended with a HUGE bang that made me waiting desperately for the conclusion to the trilogy. I loved it.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth [my review] – Yet another middle-of-trilogy book that was as strong as its predecessor. I really enjoy this series, mainly because the main character Tris is kick-ass, and secondly because it’s set in Chicago, and this one made me supremely excited for the next installment in the series.

A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan [my review] – What I liked about this one so much is that Sheehan took a really unique concept and created a great story and excellent characters around it. In all, this novel was the total package for me. Plus, while I do love my series books, this is a standalone novel! Something refreshing to see in the age of a new YA series popping up every week, it seems.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness [my review] – Oh my heart! This book, this gorgeous, devastating  brilliant, heartbreaking book, it practically killed me. There is nothing else I need to say about this one other than: read it.

Stay tuned tomorrow, for the final installment of my favorite books of 2012, where I’ll be focusing on adult fiction!

10 thoughts on “Faves from 2012: YA fiction

  1. A Monster Calls was gorgeous and devastating, wasn’t it? I remember hearing about it for the very first time from Ana at Things Mean A Lot, when I couldn’t get it here! I was not so thrilled with Pandy, but it was a means to an end and got pretty exciting at the end (and I KNEW that was going to happen!!!). Have yet to read Insurgent, but I have it right *here*. Story of my life.

  2. I’ve read Once Was Lost by Sara Zarr and liked it, so I’ll consider reading another one of her books… after I’ve finished reading the unabridged version of Les Miserables.

    Also, your post is making me consider doing a 2012 YA faves post as well. Thanks for posting this!

  3. Out of this list, I have only read A Monster Calls, and even thinking about it causes me to have great emotion. A lot of these books are sequels to books that I have been planning to read in the new year, so I am glad to hear that I have so much ahead to look forward to!

  4. Pingback: Bookish links for Saturday, December 22, 2012 | BOOKS AND MOVIES

  5. Pingback: The Sunday Salon | Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

