Faves from 2012: Nonfiction

Here are my top five nonfiction books I’ve read this year, in no particular order.

The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn [my review] – A foodie memoir with recipes, what more could a girl ask for? Not only that, but the writing is great, the memoir reads almost like a novel, and the recipes are easy and the one I made was absolutely delicious! Totally loved this one.

Surprised by Oxford by Carolyn Weber [my review] – Okay, so this wasn’t a perfect book, but I did really like it and found it incredibly inspiring. Not only that, but it really hit home for me and resonated with many of my own personal experiences. If you like come-to-Jesus type memoirs, this is a really great choice.

MWF Seeking BFF by Rachel Bertsche [my review] – I put this one on my list because I so got where Rachel was coming from. It is HARD to make friends as an adult woman. We women have a million things going on – jobs, husbands/boyfriends, family commitments, household chores, children in some cases – it’s hard to find the time to create and maintain new friendships. I also enjoyed this one so much because I liked Rachel’s personality and found it very easy to relate to her.

Cinderella Ate My Daughter by Peggy Orenstein [my review] – This is a really eye-opening look at the princess culture girls today are being raised in and inundated with from every angle. Orenstein never sensationalizes what she’s studying; rather, she gets down to the nitty-gritty and really gets to the heart of what’s going on. She also makes it clear that there are no easy answers to the question of the “right” way to raise a daughter.

Field to Feast: Recipes Celebrating Florida’s Farmers, Chefs, and Artisans by Pam Brandon, Katie Farmand, and Heather McPherson [my review] – This is an absolutely amazing, must-own cookbook. The recipes are great, the pictures are gorgeous, and the spirit is of using local, high-quality ingredients to make delicious food. I loved every single thing about this cookbook.

Up tomorrow: my favorites in young adult fiction!

5 thoughts on “Faves from 2012: Nonfiction

  1. That is an eclectic list! I didn’t even think to put the cookbooks on the favorite lists but Field to Feast could have been on mine. What an amazing cookbook!

  2. I am going to get the chance to read Kitchen Counter Cooking School, and I am really excited about it! I also think Field to Feast is a great book to have been added to the list!! I am hoping that some of the others are books that I can read in the upcoming year. Nice list today!

  3. Pingback: Preview of 2012 Booklists #2 » Semicolon

  4. Pingback: The Sunday Salon | Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

