Insurgent by Veronica Roth

InsurgentInsurgent by Veronica Roth
Published by Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins

This review will contain spoilers for the first book in this series, Divergent.

No summary on this one, folks. If you read Divergent you know how it ended, and I was thrilled to find that Insurgent begins exactly where its predecessor left off. This is now a crazy place, with war and factions divided against one another. I loved that the action started right as the book began, it brought me right back into the story and although some details of the first book were a bit fuzzy, the major plot points were brought back to my mind immediately. I remembered what I loved about Tris and Four and my love affair with these characters continued throughout this novel.

Tris really developed as a character over the course of this novel. After the events at the end of the first novel, she’s feeling incredibly conflicted with her emotions – she feels guilty, depressed at the loss of her parents, confused about where her loyalties should lie, and angry about all of it. She remains just as kick-ass a heroine as she was in Divergent, but her character gains a bit more depth as well as she works through all these emotions and grows up even more.

I was extremely relieved to find that Roth did not introduce a love triangle in this story. SO many YA novels have the main character confused over love, but not here. Tris and Four are strong as ever and even though there are obvious issues between the two of them throughout the novel (mostly because of factors outside of their control, like war) they have a mostly solid relationship and I loved them together.

One of the only quibbles I had with Divergent was that I felt the world-building wasn’t as strong as it could have been. Well, at the end of Insurgent there is a HUGE revelation about the world Tris lives in that explains why the reader was left in the dark for so long about the details of why these five factions came to be. This made me so happy, but so anxious at the same time. I’m at the point now where I need the third book, and I’m sure it’ll be quite a while before that happens.

So, yeah. I loved Insurgent too. This series is awesome, you should read it.

5 thoughts on “Insurgent by Veronica Roth

  1. This is my first comment on your blog, though I do read it all the time! (thanks for the book recommendations btw).
    I just finished insurgent myself this week (I was so happy to find it in a bookstore (I live in Greece) and did not have to wait to have it shipped from abroad)! And as you, I NEED THE 3rd BOOK!!! It’s a great series.

  2. Pingback: Veronica Roth – Insurgent « Fyrefly's Book Blog

  3. Pingback: Faves from 2012: YA fiction | Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

