The Strangers on Montagu Street by Karen White

The Strangers on Montagu StreetThe Strangers on Montagu Street by Karen White
Published by NAL Trade, an imprint of Penguin
Review copy provided by the publicist

This third book in White’s Tradd Street series brings the reader back into the life of Melanie Middleton, psychic realtor living in Charleston, North Carolina. Melanie is busy restoring her old house when she unexpectedly becomes the temporary guardian of a motherless teen named Nola. But Nola didn’t come to Melanie by herself, and the spirits that accompany her have a story that Melanie absolutely must hear.

Karen White is one of my favorite authors, and I’ve absolutely loved the first two books in the Tradd Street series so it was only a matter of time before I got to The Strangers on Montagu Street. As I expected, I loved this third book in the series and was so happy once I began to be back in Melanie’s world – it felt like reuniting with an old friend and it seriously brought joy to my life for those few days I was reading this novel.

Melanie and Jack are back to their usual love/hate relationship in this book, and while I wasn’t surprised to see them in that place I certainly hoped for things to turn out the way I wanted for them! I was satisfied (if quite surprised) with where White took their relationship by the end of the book, especially because it definitely left things open to a fourth book to come.

I always enjoy the mysteries of these novels because they are lighter and the book is more about the characters than about the mystery itself. The mystery is really just a way for the reader to get to know the characters better. In this case, the mystery served to help Melanie and the reader get to know Nola more completely and once Melanie figured out what the ghosts were trying to convey to her, she was able to see Nola in a whole new light. I truly loved the fact that White introduced Nola in this book and I do hope she continues to be a part of the future novels in this series (if there are future novels, which I have to assume/hope there will be).

What can I say – I loved this one just as I have this entire series. Melanie is hilarious, spunky, and totally awkward, but still has her shit together in many ways if you know what I mean. She’s a realistic character because her flaws bring out her true personality. I just can’t get enough of these books and I do hope White has another one up her sleeve soon!

8 thoughts on “The Strangers on Montagu Street by Karen White

  1. I am so glad you loved this one! I still haven’t read it, but I really want to! It’s nice that the mystery serves to enhance the characters, rather than take over the book, because these seem like pretty interesting characters! You have made me excited about starting this series when I can. Karen White is an amazing author!

  2. Ooh, I haven’t heard of this series, but your review and Zibilee’s comment make me want to explore it. Thanks for bringing Karen White to my attention!

  3. I know about this series but haven’t tried it. I think it says a lot that you liked the third as much as the previous books. Adding it to my TBR list – I wonder if it would be a good one to listen to?

  4. Just finished reading this last book in the series and I can’t wait for the next one. I recently became acquainted with Karen White’s writing and I am definitely a new fan.

Leave a Reply

