A Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard

A Stolen LifeA Stolen Life by Jaycee Dugard
Published by Simon and Schuster

We all know the story of Jaycee Dugard – when she was eleven years old, she was kidnapped at her school bus stop in Lake Tahoe, California and held captive for eighteen years at the home of Phillip and Nancy Garrido, during which time she gave birth to two girls, both fathered by her captor and abuser Phillip. In August of 2009, Phillip brought Jaycee and her two daughters to a meeting with his parole officer, and their strange behavior made the police suspect something weird was going on with this family – leading to the release of Jaycee and her two girls. A Stolen Life is Jaycee’s memoir of those eighteen years.

This memoir is one of the best I’ve read at truly showing what it means to be courageous and resilient. If Jaycee Dugard can survive what she did and come out of it with a positive attitude towards life, you or I can survive just about anything. She is the picture of someone who has been through the worst that we can imagine but has made major strides in the direction of getting the life she wants, not the life someone else has taught her she should have. All I can say is that her story is amazing.

This was not an easy book – what the Garridos did to Jaycee is unthinkable, unforgivable even. Jaycee’s experiences are shocking and extremely disturbing. I almost burst into tears several times throughout this book. But it’s the hope that she ends up with that is the inspiring, amazing piece of her story.

I listened to the audio of this one, and Jaycee narrates herself, which was an interesting and I think good choice. She has a very young quality to her voice, which was weird to me at first, but once I got used to it I think having her narrate made me feel closer to her, I felt that I got to know not just her story but also her personality through listening to her read her memoir. I definitely recommend this one and especially the audio version.