The Sunday Salon: Busy Bee

Well it has been a crazy couple of weeks for me! Last week (as in, beginning March 4), I traveled to Chicago to visit with family and friends. My brother recently returned from a year in Afghanistan and my sister had her second baby in January, my new niece who I’d yet to meet. It was absolutely wonderful to spend time with my parents, siblings, nieces, other extended family, and a few friends for the week. Even better: hubby decided to join me this trip! He hadn’t been back to Chicago since we moved to Florida over two years ago, so he was very busy with his own family, but we managed to spend time together as well. It was a great trip.

However, the trip has made the rest of my life feel incredibly chaotic. The week before leaving I had to work every single day – Monday through Saturday – and then got on a plane SUPER early Sunday morning. We returned very late Sunday night and after falling asleep at 3 am, I woke up Monday morning and went to work. Luckily I had yesterday off so I was able to get a ton of things crossed off my to-do list, but basically I feel like I’ve been playing catch-up all week – both at home and at work – and I’m really hoping to relax and calm down today. It’s been crazy.

But the good news is that it’s an absolutely gorgeous day here in Central Florida and after getting some blogging stuff done and getting laundry started, I plan to spend a few hours reading by the pool. Sounds delicious.

I’m sure you can guess, based on how my schedule has been these past few weeks, that I haven’t gotten much reading done. And you’d be right. This week I FINALLY finished The Emperor of All Maladies, which I’d been listening to on my iPod just about forever, and this morning in print I finished Come In and Cover Me by Gin Phillips. The week of vacation I finished exactly nothing except for what I read on the plane (How to Save a Life by Sara Zarr). I’m currently in the middle of The Replacement Wife by Eileen Goudge on my Nook and The Girl Who Stopped Swimming by Joshilyn Jackson on CD in my car. If I do get any time by the pool today like I’m planning, I will start a print book as well. So I’m really hoping that my life will start to settle down a bit and I’ll be able to read more… I miss it!

This week should be a relatively quiet one. I’m feeling much more settled at work and home, and things are starting to get back to normal. Besides my small group (church/Bible study) meeting on Thursday I don’t have any major plans… which feels very nice. What are you up to this lovely Sunday?

14 thoughts on “The Sunday Salon: Busy Bee

  1. I call that PVSD…post vacation stress disorder…when your vacation makes like so hectic that you feel like you need another vacation just to recover!

    Have a relaxing Sunday!

  2. Oh yes, PVSD is a real and serious thing! I shall have it next week. There is also the Pre-vacation stress disorder too. The key is to enjoy the hell out of the vacation to make it worth it. I’m finding that I also get behind in blogging in addition to reading. I am soooo far behind in writing reviews. Ugh.

  3. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on The Girl Who Stopped Swimming. I just finished Jackson’s newest book A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty and adored it. This wasn’t my favorite read by Jackson but I still want to hear your opinion on it. I hope that this week slows down a bit for you :)

    • I’m almost done with The Girl Who Stopped Swimming and I’m liking it a lot. Not my favorite read by her… that would be Gods in Alabama … but still really good.

  4. Sounds like you had a great trip! I feel you on the chaos of it though.. I went to NYC last week and spent time getting work done beforehand and then catching up after we got back, lol. I actually have a girls trip to Savannah this weekend and then the UCF thing is next weekend!
    Hope things calm down for you and I look forward to seeing you in a couple weeks!

  5. I was out of town last weekend, and I felt like I spent the entire week behind because I didn’t get to do my usual weekend activities. This weekend, despite having to work part of Saturday, has been much more relaxing. I hope you liked The Emperor of All Maladies — I thought it was a fantastic book.

    • Whenever I am away for a weekend, I feel like the whole rest of my week is rushed and I can never catch up, so I get it. I liked The Emperor of All Maladies, technically, but it was really difficult for me to get through. I don’t know why.

  6. What a hectic couple of weeks you’ve had! I bet it was amazing to get the chance to visit with friends and family though, and made all that stress worth it. I am glad you are back, and though the routine isn’t as much fun, at least you know what’s in store! I can’t wait to see you and gab about books, and hope that you have a great week ahead. It sounds like you might need a little snooze at the pool in addition to some great reading!

Leave a Reply

