Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

From the Hardcover editionIs Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling
Published by Crown Archetype, an imprint of Random House

Mindy Kaling, best known for her role as Kelly Kapoor on The Office, is more than what meets the eye. She is not only a head writer for the same television show in which she is an actress, but she also has experience writing and starring in an Off-Broadway show. In this hilarious memoir, Mindy gives her take on boys, shopping, fame, comedy, and what it’s really like to work at The Office. 

I’ve seen Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? Compared to Bossypants, Tina Fey’s memoir, and in fact Kaling actually addresses that in the book, but I have to tell you that the books aren’t much alike. Besides both being memoirs of female comedy writers and actresses, they don’t have anything else in common. Kaling has a personality and writing style that is all her own, and the subjects she covers in her book are completely different from what Fey discusses in hers.

However, they are both good in different ways! Kaling has the kind of humor that I highly enjoy – she is hilarious and self-deprecating and not afraid to laugh at her own expense, while still having the confidence that a person must need to be successful in her industry. She is a regular person who grew up with regular immigrant parents and a big brother. She endured bullying to a degree as a kid because she was always, as she calls it, “chubby”. Her confidence in herself and belief in what she truly wanted to do led her to become a comedy writer for The Office, and it was fun for me to read about the journey she took to get there.

I really liked this one. I think you will enjoy it even if you aren’t a fan of The Office, although familiarity with Kaling in that respect certainly helps. If you enjoy funny, sarcastic, self-deprecating humor, Kaling is your girl. Give her memoir a try.

7 thoughts on “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

  1. I have heard varying things about this one, and I think it all comes down to the kind of comedy that you prefer. Some have said that Mindy comes off as a bit narcissistic, but I am guessing that it all depends on the way you look at things. I don’t watch The Office, so I know very little about this actress, which is probably why this wouldn’t be a read for me, but I am glad that you enjoyed it and that it was a fun read for you. I have a friend who might like this one very much, and I will have to grab it for her. Great review today!

  2. We are total Office addicts in this house, and I like her on the show, but she doesn’t carry it. She is just a nice supporting character, like Angela or Toby. I am just guessing here, but with Tina Fey setting the bar, I think this one might be a bit dull for me.

  3. I didn’t like this one either…I enjoy the Office but I did feel that this book was not very interesting. I liked the fact that she is just a “normal” person who is now in Hollywood–no crazy backstory. There is one part of the book that made me laugh out loud–unfortunately, the book wasn’t that funny.

Leave a Reply

