The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Published by Dutton Juvenile, an imprint of Penguin

Hazel is a teenager living with terminal cancer. Although she benefited from an experimental drug several years back that extended her life and shrunk her tumor a considerable amount, she knows that her cancer will, one day, kill her. She is forced by her parents to go to a Cancer Kid Support Group, and it is there she meets Augustus Waters – the boy who teaches her that no matter how short life is, it can always surprise you in new and exciting ways.

I am a John Green fangirl, I must admit. Looking for Alaska shattered me to my core [my review]. Paper Towns, while not as emotional of a read for me, was fantastic and I loved the adventure within the novel [my review]. I even liked Will Grayson, Will Grayson quite a bit – and that’s the one John Green that people seem to have mixed opinions on [my review]. So it was with much excitement and anticipation that I picked up The Fault in Our Stars. And wouldn’t you know – John Green did not disappoint, not even a little bit.

You would expect that a book about two teenagers with cancer who fall in love would be unbelievably depressing, but not in Green’s capable hands. He managed to make this story not about the fact that they have cancer, but about two teenagers living life in spite of the fact that at least one of them is terminal. This book is not about the cancer, not at all. It’s about these teenagers, and while their cancer is a very real thing hovering in the background of their lives, affecting every decision they make and everything they can or cannot do with their lives, the book is about Hazel and Augustus – not about Hazel’s cancer or Augustus’ cancer or both.

What can I say? I loved both of them. I can’t even properly “review” this book because my heart was so enmeshed with everything about this story, I can’t separate myself enough to do the book justice. Just read it.

And if you haven’t read a John Green book yet, what the heck are you waiting for? He is amazing. His books are amazing. He is saying something, really and truly, in a profound but very quiet way. It’s incredible and you need to read his novels to get it.