Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins
Published by Hyperion Books

*This review may contain spoilers for the first book in the series, Hex Hall. You have been warned.

Sophie Mercer thought she was sent to Hecate Hall, a reform school for delinquent Prodigium, because she was a witch and had performed one too many spells with negative consequences. But that changed when she discovered the secret everyone has been hiding from her – she’s actually a demon. She decides she needs to go to London to endure The Removal, which will rid her of her demon powers, but when she gets to London things don’t go quite as she planned.

I enjoyed Hex Hall [my review] so much that I picked up Demonglass almost as soon as I could get my hands on it. Overall I have to say that the second book in this series lived up to my expectations and I’m excited to read the third when it is released in a few months.

The pace of this novel was a bit faster than its predecessor, and I liked how fast things moved along in this book. There was a bit more action and less world-building, which was nice. I enjoyed watching as Sophie got to know the father she’d never met and learned more about her family’s secrets. I have to admit that I find Sophie’s relationship with Archer extremely interesting – Hawkins makes their forbidden attraction extremely realistic, and I believed every minute of it. Also, it was cool that the setting of this novel was in an entirely different location from the first book, although with several of the same important characters. It was familiar but not – familiar enough that I didn’t need a reminder of what happened in the first book, unfamiliar enough to keep me on my toes, if that makes sense.

Demonglass is an exciting sequel to the fun and engaging series that began with Hex Hall. I’m truly looking forward to discovering what Hawkins does with the third book!

5 thoughts on “Demonglass by Rachel Hawkins

  1. I haven’t read these books, but they sound interesting and like they deal with a slightly new element from the paranormal arsenal. I am going to have to give them a try. I am always looking for something new, and when a book sounds this engrossing, I can hardly ignore it! Great review today, Heather!

  2. Pingback: Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins | Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

