The Sunday Salon

Good morning and happy Sunday to all! It is a beautiful morning here in sunny Florida, but I suspect it will get increasingly hotter as the day goes on (yesterday it got up to 98 degrees!) so I don’t plan on spending much time outdoors. The blue sky sure is pretty, though!

You may have noticed I wasn’t around much this past week. I was on vacation from work so I took a trip to Chicago to spend time with family and friends. I spent three whole days with my 3-year-old niece and it was seriously so much fun. I love the fact that she is getting out of her bratty two-year-old stage and into a more grown up preschooler stage. She is much easier to reason with, she listens much better, and she is absolutely hilarious. I have loved watching her grow up through all the stages of her life so far, but I think this time is my favorite so far. We just have so much fun together! We went to Brookfield Zoo¬†and took in the dolphin show (which she absolutely loved), Pirate’s Cove, and spent a day playing at a local playground and hanging out. Plus, I got to spend time with my mom, dad, both step-parents, brother, sister, brother-in-law, aunts, uncle, cousin, grandmother, and a few friends. It was a very busy week but a much-needed one – although I love Florida a lot, I miss those people a lot too.

This week, it’s business as usual. I go back to work tomorrow and while I’m not exactly happy about that, I feel better about work since I’ve had a little time away from it. I strongly believe in the power of vacations!

Today I need to run some errands and then I’d really like to spend some time reading. I didn’t read much this week due to the busyness and I’m definitely behind on my reading goals for the month. Other than that, I don’t have much going on.

Oh, and also, happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!

What are you up to this lovely Sunday?