Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner

Fly Away HomeFly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner
Published by Atria, an imprint of Simon & Schuster

Sylvie Woodruff and her two daughters, Diana and Lizzie, are stunned when they find out that her husband and their father, Senator Richard Woodruff, is having an affair with a much younger woman. Sylvie heads to her family’s house in Connecticut to regroup and figure out what she wants to do about her marriage, while Diana and Lizzie have their own problems to deal with. Diana, a doctor with a young son, is married to a man she detests and therefore is having an affair with a young medical student. Lizzie, fresh out of rehab, is attempting to put her own life back together as she works as a nanny for Diana’s son. Each of the three Woodruff women must wrestle with the twists and turns life has thrown at them and figure out how to make it all work out, somehow.

I have been a fan of Jennifer Weiner for years and have read all of her books, but I have to say that Fly Away Home might be my favorite of them yet. Her books have always stood out from the rest of the “chick lit” genre to me, as being much deeper than some other books that also fit that mold, and this one in particular dealt with very serious issues in a realistic way, making for very interesting, compelling reading.

What’s so fabulous about Fly Away Home is the realistic, honest characters. These women are each flawed to a degree – Sylvie acknowledges that she wasn’t a very attentive or loving mother to her two girls, Diana is cheating on her husband, Lizzie has a drug problem she’s attempting to recover from – but their flaws make them so much more real. I felt like I knew these characters, like they are a part of my life now that I’ve spent so much time getting to know them and hearing their stories and understanding the truths behind their personalities. The fact that the chapters alternate between each of the three women really gives the reader the opportunity to sink deep into the story, as we hear from each of their individual voices and perspectives.

There are some serious issues raised in Fly Away Home – infidelity, drug use, questionable parenting, and the honest look at the toll marriage can take on a couple – but it never feels heavy or overdone. Instead, these issues just serve to illuminate the real things the characters have to deal with, and how they grow because of them. At the same time, Weiner does the perfect thing in this book by not being too light with her characters either; these women have serious hurdles and she doesn’t shy away from writing a realistic portrayal of how they are affected by these issues.

I listened to Fly Away Home on audio and the production was fantastic. The narrator, Judith Light, really channeled the personalities of all three women with the tone of her voice and inflection. I would absolutely recommend listening to Fly Away Home as well as reading it in print.

So, I would highly recommend Fly Away Home. Jennifer Weiner is an author I can never get enough of, and her latest book hit the mark perfectly for me. A real treat.

Audiobook Week: My Audiobook Year

Today marks the first day of Jen @ Devourer of BooksAudiobook Week! As many of you know, I have been listening to audio books for about two years now I absolutely love them. I used to listen exclusively in my car while driving, but I’ve recently taken to downloading books on my iPod also and listening while I’m cooking, cleaning, getting ready in the mornings, etc. You would think that I’d have trouble following two audiobooks at one time, but it has been a piece of cake, and has allowed me to increase my reading when the actual time I have for reading these days has steadily decreased.

Anyway, for today’s topic I wanted to tell you some of my favorite audiobook finds from the last year. Links will take you to my reviews.

Still Missing by Chevy Stevens - this is an extremely creepy, horrifying story about a girl who was kidnapped and held captive for over a year. The audiobook perfectly captures the terrifying nature of the story, and I absolutely loved listening to it.

Columbine by Dave Cullen – possibly my favorite audiobook I’ve ever listened to. Amazing.

The Nobodies Album by Carolyn Parkhurst - this book is excellent and the audio version is as well.

Gods in Alabama by Joshilyn Jackson - I really enjoyed the book and the narrator’s voice, inflection, and tone were perfect for the story.

The Pioneer Woman: Black Heels to Tractor Wheels by Ree Drummond – if you are going to read this book, the audio is an absolute must. Ree Drummond narrates it herself, which causes the experience to feel more like having a conversation with a friend and less like reading a book. Fabulous.

Fly Away Home by Jennifer Weiner – I haven’t reviewed this one yet but the audio version was very good. I loved the story, one of Weiner’s best in my opinion.

The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I have slowly been making my way through the series on audio, although I’ve read them in print many times. Jim Dale is probably the most talented narrator I’ve ever listened to, he has a different voice for every single character and the listening experience is just phenomenal.

So do you listen to audiobooks? What are some of your favorites?