Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Title:  Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Authors:  John Green and David Levithan
Release date:  April 6, 2010
Publisher:  Dutton
Pages:  304
Genre:  Young adult fiction
Source:  Library

Will Grayson and Will Grayson are two high school kids, both growing up in the Chicago area, both oblivious to the fact that there is another Will Grayson attending a similar high school in a similar town in the same state.  Until one night, when a set of very strange circumstances forces the two Wills together and allows them to meet for the first time.  And neither of them will ever be the same.

So, you all know how much I love John Green, right?  And you know how much I loved the one David Levithan I’ve read, right?  These things in mind, it’s understandable that I hyped up this book in my mind.  It’s understandable that I knew for sure that it was going to be fantastic, and I was going to love it, and I was going to recommend it to everyone.  It’s also understandable that I went into it with a little bit of nervousness, because you know, what if it wasn’t as great as I was expecting?

Thank goodness I loved it!  This book was everything I was hoping it would be, and I’m so thrilled about that.  This book is so full of awesome I’m not even sure where to start.  The characters, maybe?  I loved all of them.  Even the annoying, whiny Will Grayson (who stopped being annoying and whiny by the end, and he sort of had reason to be that way, anyway, so I forgave him).  The first Will Grayson was also sort of whiny, but in a much different, more endearing way, and I really enjoyed him.  I also really, really liked Jane and hoped SO much that Will and Jane would eventually figure out their drama and get together.  But Tiny absolutely takes the cake – Tiny was such a fantastic character, so hilarious and adorable and about as real as it gets.  I loved him, and I could SO picture him in my mind – I wish I had a Tiny Cooper in my life!

And these relationships…. my goodness.  My absolute favorite thing about John Green is the relationships he creates with his characters, and how these teenagers are able to have these complex, serious relationships with serious and profound conversations, while still being, you know, teenagers. Will Grayson, Will Grayson definitely had that down perfectly.  The character development in the novel is nothing short of fantastic, as you can see each of the characters coming into their own, understanding more things about the world and their part in it, and developing more mature and adult relationships with one another.

The ending… I cried.  It’s not a sad ending, but a beautiful one, and I couldn’t help the tears.  They were good tears, though. :)

I listened to Will Grayson, Will Grayson in audiobook format, and it was a great way to take in the story.  There were two separate narrators for the two Wills, and that structure worked perfectly.  The actors really channeled the characters and the production was really fantastic.

Highly recommended.  If you are a young adult fiction fan, you absolutely cannot miss this one.

5 thoughts on “Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

  1. Pingback: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green « Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

