BBAW Interview Swap: Emily of Emily’s Reading Room

For my Book Blogger Appreciation Week interview partner, I was lucky enough to be paired with Emily of Emily’s Reading Room, a new-to-me blogger.  Emily mostly blogs about children’s and young adult fiction, and she does it with a style and class all her own.  She is a very sweet person with an absolutely gorgeous baby daughter.  Please visit her if you haven’t already!

I’m always interested in learning how and why bloggers begin blogging, so what inspired you to start your blog?
I think my blog started out like so many others. I wanted to keep track of the books I was reading. Also, I had a lot of friends that were asking for book recommendations. I have such bad book retention that I needed a way to keep them straight. I honestly had no idea what an ARC was or that there was a book blogging community when I first started.
I love young adult fiction, so I’ve enjoyed looking through many of your reviews, but I’m curious: what made you decide to review primarily young adult and children’s fiction?

When I was in college, I had this crazy notion that I had to read all these “important and influential” books.  But, I had a friend that said that she read young adult and middle grade novels as a way to remove herself from her life. It was how she unwound. I knew I had always liked those kinds of stories. She gave me the courage to shop in the children’s section again.

I’m enjoying reading through your Ask HTMily posts, and I have to ask – what’s the strangest question you’ve received so far?  The most interesting?  The most difficult to answer?
I haven’t received a lot of strange questions. Sometimes I think people don’t think their question all the way through, and make it very unclear to read. But, other than that, they have all been pretty awesome.  The most difficult to answer by far was the one that involved image mapping. I didn’t even know it was possible until a commenter pointed it out to me. I am the master of google. If I don’t know how to do something, I will find it out.
In your BBAW survey, you said your favorite book is The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale.  I haven’t read it, but now you’ve got me intrigued.  What about this book makes it your favorite, and why should I read it?

This was the first book I read after my great book awakening that I mentioned before. Once I realized that it was okay for adults to read young adult fiction, I was introduced to Shannon Hale’s work. I fell in love with the characters. I love all of Shannon Hale’s work, but Goose Girl is my favorite probably because it was my first.

Do your friends and family know about your blog, and if so, what do they think of it?

Oh yeah, everyone knows about my blog. My husband is very supportive of it, in fact, he often designs graphics for me for it. He watches the baby while I go to events and such. My friends also love the blog. I often get comments from them in real life like, “Okay, so I checked out/bought a book that you recommended on your blog and I loved it!” That is so wonderful to me.

In addition to reading and blogging, you have a career, a child, and a husband.  How do you manage to balance it all?

I don’t. Well, that’s not true. Some days I do better than others. I went through a period this summer where I was beating myself up trying to post every single day.  Now, I have weeks where I post every day, and other weeks where it’s only twice during the whole week. I’ve allowed myself to become flexible with my schedule and have realized that my baby is only a baby once. I only blog while she is asleep. Period.

If you were stranded on a desert island, which five books would you want to have with you and why?

Goose Girl by Shannon Hale because it was my first love, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins for the survival tips, Harry Potter (any of them) by JK Rowling to keep a little bit of magic, The Book of Mormon because it is my scripture and the most important book in all of history, Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery for the beautiful, yet simple story.

Outside of reading and blogging, what is your favorite way to spend your spare time?

Playing with my daughter, and talking to my friends. I don’t have a lot of spare time, but I do try to make sure that I keep in touch with my friends. My daughter gets a lot of attention from me while she is awake.

There are so many things I love about book blogging.  What do YOU love about it?

The people. Readers, fellow bloggers, publishers, and authors. I would not have done this as long as I have without the wonderful relationships that I have developed over the last year.

What is your favorite part of BBAW?

How much everyone supports each other. Even if they don’t win any awards or prizes, people are so kind to one another. I think we all recognize how hard it is to stay active in something that we don’t get paid for. I also enjoy finding new blogs to read.

5 thoughts on “BBAW Interview Swap: Emily of Emily’s Reading Room

  1. That’s my rule of thumb, too. No blogging while the kids are awake. Makes for late nights–probably too many–but there it is.

    Great interview, you too. I enjoyed finding out a few more things I didn’t know about Emily.

  2. Thanks for introducing me to a new blog. I’m a little worried how I might keep up with the blog once the babe arrives, so I’ll have to check her out and see how she does it.

Leave a Reply

