Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Audiobook

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Book 1) [AUDIOBOOK] [UNABRIDGED] (Audio CD) + free Harry Potter t-shirt (Harry Potter, Book 1) If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan.  I have read all the books multiple times, and when I’m having a rough time in life, I usually will pick up one of the books in the series as a comfort read.  And it really works!  Well, I’ve been told for a long time now that the audio versions of these novels are simply amazing, something any HP fan should not miss.  Well, I finally decided to try out the audio version of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.  Let me tell you, everyone who encouraged me to listen to this novel was completely right – the audio version is really amazing!  Jim Dale, the narrator of the book (and I think he does all seven of them), gives a phenomenal performance.  He has voices for all of the characters (and if you’ve read these books, you know there are a LOT of characters), and he puts so much emotion and truth into his voice when he reads.  Really, his performance is not to be missed.  And listening to this book as opposed to reading it gave me a whole new perspective on the novel.  I even shed a few tears at the end – and the end of this first installment is arguably the ONLY truly happy ending in the whole series!

Anyway, I just wanted to encourage everyone who loves Harry Potter as much as I do to give the audio versions a shot.  I don’t know that I’ll be listening to the other six right away (let’s face it, they just get longer and longer and I really don’t spend too much time in the car), but eventually I will, and I’m sure they just get better as the plot gets more complex and more characters are introduced.

If you’ve listened to any of the Harry Potter books, what did you think?

9 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Audiobook

  1. I “read” the final HP installment on audiobook! I was travelling to Louisiana by car last memorial day weekend… by myself… and needed SOMETHING to entertain me! I ended up listening to it the entire way down there & the entire way back! It made the long drive so much more bearable (13 hours each way!). I thought the guy did a great job!

  2. I have to confess, I wasn’t crazy about Jim Dale’s reading of those books. I vastly prefer the British audiobooks, which Stephen Fry narrates – though in the interests of full disclosure, Stephen Fry has won my heart by playing Oscar Wilde, speaking frankly about his bipolar disorder, and being BFF with Hugh Laurie, so it’s possible I am the tiniest bit biased in his favor.

  3. I first read all seven of the books in hard copies, then I went on to listen to all seven of them. I love, love, loved them! I listened to the Jim Dale version, but I’ve heard Fry’s version is wonderful too. I’m sure I’ll get to it eventually.

  4. They are total comfort reads to me too, and I love the audio versions. I heard Jim Dale’s readings first, so I tend to like his a smidge better because that’s what I’m used to, but Stephen Fry’s are wonderful as well.

    A few years ago I was having a lot of trouble sleeping, so I started listening to them when I went to bed. I focused on the story, instead of whatever thoughts were swirling round my mind when I was trying to fall asleep. It’s become a habit now. I’ve listened to them all countless times over the last few years – the last one especially, to the point where I can almost quote whole passages along with Jim! It sounds a bit silly I suppose, but I am really grateful for the audio versions because they really have helped me conquer my sleeping problems.

Leave a Reply

