The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Title:  The Hobbit
Author:  J.R.R. Tolkien
Release date:  January 1938
Publisher:  Houghton Mifflin Books for Children
Pages:  320
Genre:  Young adult, childrens’ books, fantasy
Source:  Personal copy

Ah, The Hobbit –  I really, really was expecting more from you.  I hate that.  I read this book in sixth grade, and while I was scared of it because I’d never read fantasy before that time, I remember enjoying the book quite a bit.  I always assumed I’d read it again, so when the Lord of the Rings read-a-long began I decided that was the perfect opportunity.  Unfortunately, I didn’t love it as much as I was assuming I would.

Clearly, my twelve-year-old brain was a lot different from my twenty-six-year-old brain.  This time around, I found the narration of The Hobbit mildly annoying and condescending, I wished there would be more showing and much less telling, and the adventures did not have the same magic that I remembered them having when I was a kid.  I still found Bilbo charming and sort of adorable, and I somewhat enjoyed the overall experience of reading the book, but it did not have the same sense of wonder that it had years ago.

The Hobbit is the only J.R.R. Tolkien I’d previously read, and now I’m trying to decide if I want to read the rest of the LOTR books.  I’m thinking I will try the first book and see how I like it before committing to all three.  We’ll see.

Have you read these books since you were a child?  What do you think of them?  I know I’m in the minority with my dislike here, so lay it on me!  What do you love about these books and what am I missing?