Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo

Title: Sworn to Silence
Author:  Linda Castillo
Release Date:  June 23, 2009
Publisher:  Minotaur Books
Page Count:  336
Genres:  Fiction, Mystery, Thriller
Source:  LibraryThing Early Reviewer’s

I don’t read a lot of thrillers these days.  When I was in middle school, I read tons of Mary Higgins Clark and James Patterson, but I haven’t read too much in the way of thrillers since.  I did think that Sworn to Silence sounded kind of interesting, so when I won it from LibraryThing, I realized it would be a perfect one to read this time of year – don’t we all love reading scary books in October?

The novel revolves around Kate Burkholder, chief of police in a town called Painters Mill, a small town with a prominent Amish population.  Kate’s family is all Amish, and in fact she was Amish herself until her late teens, when she survived an encounter with the Slaughterhouse Killer, which made her realize that she no longer believed in the Amish values and way of life she grew up with.  When the book begins, Kate is called to a crime scene – a young woman’s mutilated body was dumped by the side of the road, and upon further investigation the murderer is looking like it could very well be the Slaughterhouse Killer.  Kate has to not only solve the crime, but also possibly expose a terrifying family secret that she’s been hiding for years.

I was actually pretty surprised by how much I enjoyed Sworn to Silence.  I was swept away by the mystery from the very beginning, and I could have easily read the book in one or two sittings – I really didn’t want to put it down.  I also felt drawn to Kate Burkholder, and I believed her as a character.  I think she’s really someone readers can relate to; she is tough and soft all at once and super intelligent but makes mistakes just like anyone else.  The romance that unfolded in the novel was very enjoyable to me – it was a cute side story that I truly didn’t see coming and really added to the believability of the novel.

I truly liked this novel and I’m very glad I read it, even though Sworn to Silence isn’t my typical fare.  I’ve heard that the book is going to be a series starring Kate Burkholder, and I really hope that’s true because I’ll definitely read more from Linda Castillo in the future.

15 thoughts on “Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo

  1. I love it when I get caught up in a book I didn’t expect to enjoy! :)

    That’s interesting that this one is about Amish society-I wonder if Castillo herself is Amish.

    • I wondered that too, actually. I don’t think she actually IS Amish, based on the picture of her on the book jacket, but it’s entirely possible that she either grew up Amish, like Kate, or lived in an Amish community.

    • If you love thrillers, I think you’ll definitely enjoy this book. And you’ll probably get sucked into a new series, too, because apparently this is only the first Kate Burkholder novel!

  2. i tend to listen to thrillers on my daily commute and this one sounds good! i love the idea of a former amish woman as the main character–that alone is a draw for me.

    as a kid, my dad would take us to a farmers’ market on friday nights and there was always a stand with amish families making and selling pretzels. my dad explained their traditions and it was fascinating to me. i’ve read a few books that center on the amish and am always interested!

    thanks for the tip on a book i’m definitely going to read!

  3. I tried to win this one from LibraryThing, but ended up with something I am not really enjoying instead :(
    This one must be good if you liked it even though it was a thriller. I’ll have to look for it .

  4. I’m on the library list for this one. I think I’m something like #40, so I have quite a wait yet, but I keep hearing good things about it, so I’m looking forward to it.

  5. I saw this on LT and thought about requesting, but then didn’t because I thought maybe it wouldn’t be as good as it sounded. I am happy to see that you enjoyed it! I’m going to add it to my TBR.

  6. Just finished reading this and really enjoyed it. Well written, believable characters and a setting that seems (to a Brit at least) authentic. I find the whole small town and Amish community within a community theme absolutely fascinating.

  7. Pingback: Review: Sworn to Silence by Linda Castillo « Reactions to Reading

  8. Pingback: Pray for Silence by Linda Castillo « Book Addiction

Leave a Reply

