Blindness by Jose Saramago

Blindness
Jose Saramago
September 1, 1998
Harvest Books
352 pages
Fiction, Suspense

I have been hearing great things about Blindness for awhile now – it was highly recommended by some of my favorite bloggers, so I figured that the RIP IV challenge would be the perfect opportunity to finally pick it up.

Blindness fits the RIP vibe perfectly – it is CREEPY for sure.  The book starts out innocently enough, with a scene of a traffic-y street, people driving home from work during rush hour, when suddenly one of the cars just stops in the middle of the road.  The man starts yelling from his car that he just became blind in a split second.  Another man drives him home and helps him into his house only to become blind himself a few hours later.  The first blind man goes into an eye doctor’s office to figure out what is wrong with him, and while he’s there he “infects” most people there with the blindness, including the doctor himself.

Well, as you can imagine the government gets pretty freaked out by the pandemic blindness and sticks all the blind people in an abandoned insane asylum, where they are trapped with armed guards outside ready to shoot should they attempt to leave.  And inside the asylum some of the most horrific things that you can imagine occur – I don’t even want to tell you about what happens, it’s bad enough to read it once.  Through all this, one woman (the doctor’s wife) somehow remains unscathed by the blindness, and as she pretends to be blind so she can stay with her husband, she ends up in the asylum too – and thank God for her.  A group of seven of the blind people eventually form a sort of group, and she is their only hope amidst all the craziness that happens.

Okay, like I said – this book is seriously scary.  As in, reading Blindness made me seriously think of what would happen if we all ACTUALLY became blind – it really would be mass chaos, like in the book.  Saramago made the book so realistic that it creeped me out to no end.  Because of this, I cannot tell you how good Blindness is – it is an AWESOME book.  Awesome.  I was in shock while reading it, I wanted to close my eyes and run away, but I could not stop reading.  It was completely gripping.  Unputdownable, really.

The characters in Blindness are never given proper names.  They never learn each other’s names, so the reader never learns them either.  I get why Saramago did this – when they could not see each other, all they had were voices to differentiate, and they did not need names.  In addition, they became totally different people after they were blind; their names no longer represented the people they had become, their names became irrelevant.  It was a great technique and although it sort of annoyed me that they had to say “the girl with the dark glasses” instead of her name every time she did something (etc) it definitely worked.  Another thing that worked was the huge run on paragraphs and no dialogue tags or much punctuation whatsoever.  While it took me awhile to get used to this, and it would make me mad in almost anything else, it totally worked for Blindness.  It was just a totally freaky, eerie book, and the format matched that vibe.

I’m really trying to effectively communicate what a fantastic book Blindness is, but I get the feeling I’m not doing such a great job of that.  All I can say is, this is a supremely awesome book and it should be read by all.  Because it’s just THAT captivating.

I am curious about the movie that was recently made based on this novel.  Has anyone seen it?  Can it possibly live up to the amazingness of the book?

More reviews:

27 thoughts on “Blindness by Jose Saramago

  1. The thing that creeped me out about Blindness the most was how I felt he was using it to describe society. Isn’t it interesting how groups took authority, and those in authority (who were supposed to ‘feed’ them where they were first contained) fell apart? I was shocked about the bullies who demanded money, then sex, for their food. I was intrigued how a woman led them to relative safety. And, I’m puzzled how they all regained sight in the end. Did they have to go through the experience to learn something? It’s such a thought provoking book, and as you said, perfect for the RIP.

    • I so agree with you. I was also shocked by the behavior of some of the blind people, and I can see how if we were all blind some of that stuff would probably happen – no sight almost means no accountability for one’s actions. It was a very interesting read indeed!

    • It would be a really fun book club book because of all the arguments he makes about society. There is a LOT to discuss in this one, as long as people can be patient as it takes a few pages to get into the flow of the book.

  2. I really want to read this book. I watched the movie after a barista at the starbucks I go to told me about it. He really enjoyed it and so did I!! I don’t know how well the movie portrays the book but the movie was pretty amazing, in my opinion.

  3. I’ve been waiting to hear your thoughts on this one. It creeped me out too and there were times that I just wanted to put the book down. But it was a really exceptional read although I was left with a few questions in the end. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much…I’ll be reading more by this author in the future! Great review!

  4. I thought this was a very good book. Since reading it in January ’09, I have acquired 3 more books by Saramago. I haven’t had a chance to read any of them yet, but look forward to more of his writing. I want to see the movie, too.

    Thanks for the link. :)

    • ooh I hope you read some more from him soon. The thing is that because of the style of his writing, it really does take an effort to read the books – they are SO dense. But so worth it. I really want to read Seeing next, to see what happens to this town in the aftermath of the Blindness.

  5. Pingback: Sunday Salon « Book Addiction

  6. Yay! So glad you liked it! :)

    I’d forgotten there’s a movie out based on this book, and because one of the commenters said they liked it, I think I’ll have to make it the next movie I rent!

    • ooh you better post about the movie – or at least email me – I want to know what your thoughts on the movie are. I don’t watch a lot of movies so I’m trying to decide if it’s worth my time to rent this one.

  7. Pingback: Blindness by José Saramago « Ardent Reader

Leave a Reply

