Review policy

I’ve been thinking a lot about how I broadcast my review policy to authors and publishers who are interested in sending me books.  I have played around with a few different ways of having a review policy posted on the blog, but most recently I was inspired by Natasha and Trish, who both have very detailed information on their sites about their own review policies.

So… I tweaked mine.  A lot.  Check it out.  I think it’s very thorough, and that is what matters most to me.  I don’t want there to be any confusion about what I do and do not do in regards to reviewing, and I certainly don’t want any hurt feelings.  What do you think?

9 thoughts on “Review policy

  1. It’s great, Heather! Very informative.

    I wonder if I should write one… I never did because I very rarely get review requests, but now I wonder if I should have one just in case.

  2. Wonderful! Even though I just redid mine within the last week, I think I’m going to go back again and make it more concise and break it up in easier chunks to read. It gets better with every draft! The only thing I would say is to actually link “review copy” instead of telling them where to find it. But that’s it!

  3. Great job on this, Heather – it is very thorough and very clear. I have one on my site in the “ABOUT” tab…I keep changing it around :)

  4. I think your review policy is excellent! You’re very clear and concise, which is one of the things I love about your writing. It feels good to have something that’s uber clear, doesn’t it? I had taken down my policy but recently rewrote it and put it back up. It took me almost a full day of thinking about it, adding things, taking things away, rewording things. I wish I was quicker with this kind of stuff. :-)

  5. I think you did a great job with it. I’ve amended the little blurb at the top of my blog, but maybe I should create a more detailed post. Something to ponder anyway.

Leave a Reply

