A meme about my sweetheart!

I saw this on Dooce and thought about doing it, and then just now I noticed that Trish also partook in this fun meme.  So I decided I had to, too. :)  Be prepared to learn about my wonderful husband, Bob.

What are your middle names?
Mine is Lee, Bob’s is Joesph.

How long have you been together?
We have been married for one year, eight months.  Before we got married we dated for a year, broke up for a year, then dated/were engaged for another year before getting married.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?
We worked together at a restaurant when I was in high school and Bob was in college.  We really didn’t talk much, though, until I was also in college – that’s when we became friends that hung out in a group every now and then.  I think we knew each other for a total of about five years before dating.

Who asked whom out?
We didn’t really ask each other out, exactly.  We were texting one night when he invited me to come visit him at school that evening (he went to school about an hour away from where I was).  I figured, what the heck, jumped in my car and drove.  We hung out with some of his friends that night, and after hanging out a few more times, we were dating.

How old are each of you?
I am 25, he is 28 – soon to be 29.

Whose siblings do you see the most?
With the exception of one of his sisters, who lives in Florida, and my youngest brother who just joined the military, all of our siblings live 40 minutes or less from us.  So we see them all pretty frequently.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?
I don’t know… maybe communication?  I tend to get really defensive even when  I have nothing to defend, and he tends to get condescending for no particular reason, so we sometimes come to a standstill when we’re trying to work out some issue.  But we’re getting better.

Did you go to the same school?
We went to the same high school, but not at the same time; he was a college freshman when I was a high school freshman.  We didn’t go to the same college.

Are you from the same home town?
Yes.

Who is smarter?
We are pretty close.  But we’re smarter in different ways – I pick up on things much faster, but he’ll work a lot harder than I will to understand something.  He is more determined whereas I just like to get things done fast and don’t have a lot of patience.

Who is the most sensitive?
Me, absolutely.  Bob gets SO frustrated with how emotional I can get, he is the anti-sensitive.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?
We love Panera and Noodles & Co because they are delicious and inexpensive.  There are some other places we like better, but they are more expensive and we don’t go too often.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?
We  have gone on three cruises together, and I think the furthest place we’ve visited on all of them has been Roatan Island, Honduras.  We also went to San Francisco together, which may be a bit further in terms of miles, I’m not really sure.

Who has the craziest exes?
Definitely me.  I dated one guy who falls VERY high on the crazy scale.  Bob’s dated some interesting girls, for sure, but my one ex definitely takes the cake on this one.

Who has the worst temper?
Neither of us really has a temper, but I guess I’d say me if I had to pick one.  I just get irritated over dumb things, and have a tendency to snap at him when said irritation occurs.  It’s not really a temper, though…

Who does the cooking?
We both do.  We mostly cook individual things, as weird as that sounds, because he is SUCH a picky eater.  I can’t cook anything that I like for him.  So unless I’m making homemade pizza, some kind of simple pasta, or a steak, I can only cook for myself.

Who is the neat-freak?
Ha.  Neither of us.  That’s why it’s such a struggle to keep our place appropriately neat and clean.

Who is more stubborn?
I think he is.  But we both are usually “right”, so it’s kind of a tie.

Who hogs the bed?
Haha, I’m with you, Trish.  Our three cats take up more of the bed than we do!

Who wakes up earlier?
On a morning when we can wake up naturally, I will always wake up earlier.  But usually Bob has to wake up slightly earlier than me for work.

Where was your first date?
We hung out with some of his friends at his college apartment, then tried to go bowling but found out it was closed.  If you can really consider it a date, since at the time I really didn’t.

Who is more jealous?
Me, but we’re both pretty laid back and not very jealous.

How long did it take to get serious?
Pretty quickly the first time.  REALLY quickly the second time.  When we had decided to get back together after being broken up for a year, Bob had an engagement ring picked out within three months (although I didn’t know it at the time).

Who eats more?
Oh my goodness, Bob.  He can eat endlessly.  I am hungry more often, but I eat small meals.  Bob will eat much, MUCH more than me in one sitting.

Who does the laundry?
We each do our own, believe it or not.  Laundry is something we are both very particular about, and there’s no reason to create conflicts when we can just do our laundry separately.

Who’s better with the computer?
Me, but I’m really not that great.

Who drives when you are together?
Bob because I really don’t like to drive.  So I will gladly let him.  Plus I like his car better. :)

Feel free to play along!

Review: Sister Wife

sisterwifeTitle:  Sister Wife

Author:  Shelley Hrdlitschka

# of Pages:  176

Published:  October 1, 2008

ISBN:  978-1551439273

My rating:  3.5/5

Sister Wife is set in the fictional community of Unity, a polygamous, religious community seemingly based on the real-life FLDS church.  The book centers around three young girls in the community – Celeste, Nanette, and Taviana.

Celeste is fifteen and about to be married, as soon as the Prophet determines who she’s supposed to be with.  While this should be an exciting time in her life, she is beginning to question her faith and doesn’t feel like marriage is what she should be doing at this point in her life – she yearns to get an education and become a veterinarian.  What’s more, a boy her age in the community has started to notice her… and she isn’t shying away from his attention.  Nanette is Celeste’s younger sister, almost fourteen, and the two girls couldn’t be more opposite.  Nanette is very secure in her faith; she believes wholeheartedly in the principles of Unity and she’s very jealous of her sister – she wants to get married now too, not in a year or two.  Taviana is seventeen and not originally from Unity.  She was a homeless teenager when one of the elders in the community found her and volunteered to “adopt” her; she then became part of a Unity family and she was raised as a teenage girl in that family just as the rest of the girls.  But Tavian’s past might just be a little too dark for the community members to forgive her for, and soon they start worrying that she is poisoning the minds of other teens, especially Celeste.

I found Sister Wife to be an enjoyable read.  Overall, I thought it was good but not great.  The succession of events definitely kept me interested, and I cared enough about the characters to want to know what would happen to them and to hope for them all to find peace and happiness in this lifestyle that I personally cannot understand.  What keeps Sister Wife from being better than just good is that I don’t feel it was very deep.  I can’t put my finger on exactly what was missing, but I suppose I expected a lot from a book about three teen girls in a fictional polygamous community, and it simply didn’t live up to my expectations.  There just wasn’t a lot here besides daily activities and thoughts of these three girls.  Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad book by any means, it was just lacking a certain something for my personal tastes.

I’d still recommend Sister Wife, it actually was a good book, it just won’t be making any of my favorites lists anytime soon.

More reviews -