Review: Anatomy of a Boyfriend

Anatomy of a Boyfriend – Daria Snadowsky

 published 2007 – 259 pages

From the book jacket -

Before all this happened, the closest I’d ever come to getting physical with a guy was playing the board game Operation.  Okay, so maybe that sounds pathetic, but it’s not like there were any guys in my high school who I cared to share more than three words with, let alone my body.

Then I met Wes, a track-star senior from across town.  Maybe it was his beautiful blue eyes, or maybe my hormones just started raging.  Either way, I was hooked.  And after a while, he was too.  I couldn’t believe how intense my feelings became, or the fact that I was seeing – and touching – parts of the body I’d only read about in my Gray’s Anatomy textbook.  You could say Wes and I experienced a lot of firsts together that spring.  It was scary.  It was fun.  It was love.

And then came the fall.

Daria Snadowsky’s unflinching dissection of seventeen-year-old Dominique’s first relationship reveals the ecstasy and the agony of love, and everything in between.

My thoughts -

When Daria Snadowsky contacted me and so graciously offered to send me a copy (autographed, no less!) of her first novel to review, of course I jumped at the chance.  I have to say that although this isn’t the type of book I would typically pick up on my own, I did really enjoy reading it.  What Dom and Wes go through in their first real relationship is so familiar to me, as I experienced a lot of the same thoughts and emotions when I was in high school, with my first “real” boyfriend.  I think that many teens will find this novel comforting, as it is strikingly similar to what I believe are many peoples’ (especially teens’) experiences with relationships.  Also, I felt that Snadowsky did an excellent job of allowing the reader to get to know and love the characters – especially Dominique – in a relatively short amount of time (250ish pages).  Because of this, I truly felt for Dom when the inevitable eventually does happen (they go off to separate colleges, etc…), and I was rooting for her to figure things out, to mature out of the relationship, and to continue on with the amazing opportunities that were in store for her at college and beyond. 

Some other bloggers have mentioned the amount of sex in this book and questioned its appropriateness for younger teens.  I have to agree with them in a way.  While I will readily admit that I read books just as graphic as this one at age 14, I’m not quite sure that I’d encourage my 14 year old to do the same (if I had children, which currently I do not).  I’d recommend holding off on this one until age 16 or so, or at least – for all you parents of teenagers – skimming through the book to determine its appropriateness for your particular teen.  I think all kids are different – as a teen, I could have easily flown through this book without “getting any ideas”, but I know that other teens probably handle things differently than I did.  So, just a word of caution for all the parents out there and/or younger teens.

Overall, a solid YA book with great characters and a very decent plot that I think many will find enjoyable and even comforting.

Also reviewed by: Holly at On My Bookshelf and Becky at Becky’s Book Reviews.

7 thoughts on “Review: Anatomy of a Boyfriend

  1. I almost bought this, but then thought, “ugh, teen sex–who cares?” Now, due to your review, I wish I’d followed my first impulse. Maybe I’ll pick up a copy someday…

  2. I have a copy of this book myself. I can’t wait to read it. But overall, I’ve found that a lot of the books marketed at the YA sect these days have a lot more sex that I would normally like to see. I guess I’m just getting to be a prude the older I get!

  3. Hi Heather! I’m interested in this book now after reading your review. As far as the teen sex thing, kudos to Daria Snadowsky for writing about it. Honestly, doesn’t it need to be talked about? It’s reality for many high schoolers, and to pretend it isn’t just isn’t fair. I do imagine that if it were MY 14-year-old reading it, I would feel uncomfortable, but I would hope it would provoke discussion.

    Katie
    http://www.k8mc.wordpress.com
    http://www.katies101books.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: YA links for 8/24/08! « YA Fabulous!

Leave a Reply

