Review – Fahrenheit 451

Fahrenheit 451

 Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

 

From the back cover -

The system was simple.  Everyone  understood it.  Books were for burning, along with the houses in which they were hidden.  Guy Montag was a fireman whose job it was to start fires.  And he enjoyed his job.  He had been a fireman for ten years, and he had never questioned the pleasure of the midnight runs nor the joy of watching pages consumed by flames… never questioned anything until he met a seventeen-year-old girl who told him of a past when people were not afraid.  Then guy met a professor who told him of a future in which people could think.  And Guy Montag suddenly realized what he had to do…

 

My thoughts -

So I did not enjoy this book nearly as much as I had anticipated.  The only dystopian novel I have ever read before this is 1984 and since I really loved that, I just assumed I’d love this too.  But the two books are really nothing alike, and I just was not excited about this book one bit.  I sort of got into the story in the beginning, when I was figuring out exactly how things worked in this sad future world, and I did perk up a lot when Montag started fighting the system toward the end, but the whole middle just did not do it for me at all.  I don’t know, it’s probably just me because I’ve heard so many great things about this “classic” novel, but personally I was just not too into it.  I did finish the book, however, so that says something good about it as I am not afraid to put down a book that I simply dislike.  So because I finished the book and did get emotionally involved in some parts, I’ll give Fahrenheit 451 a rating of 65/100.

And in other good news, this is book 1 of my TBR challenge list, so only 11 to go on that challenge!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review – Fahrenheit 451

  1. Pingback: Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury « Stacy’s Bookblog

  2. Pingback: Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury « A Book Blog. Period.

Leave a Reply

